Wednesday, July 30, 2014

Janet Frame Memorial Award and NZSA / Peter & Dianne Beatson Fellowship Call for applications

The Janet Frame Memorial award runs biennially and is for $3,000. It is offered by the NZSA, thanks to a gift from the Janet Frame Literary Trust, to support a mid-career or established writer. This prestigious award is open to authors of poetry, literary or imaginative fiction.

In 2012 the award went to Dunedin novelist, memoirist, and poet Diane Brown.
Deadline: 31 October 2014

The Peter & Dianne Beatson Fellowship is an annual Fellowship generously donated by Peter Beatson and provides the successful applicant with $7,000 and the choice of a one month stay in the Dianne Beatson Residency at Foxton Beach.
Diane Brown so impressed the two separate judging panels that she was also awarded the Beatson Fellowship in 2013.
The award opens on 4 August and is open to writers of fiction, poetry and drama.
Deadline: 29 September 2014
Both awards are open to members of the New Zealand Society of Authors.  Membership of the New Zealand Society of Authors is open to all budding and established writers. NZSA provides: a mentorship programme, a manuscript assessment programme, manuscript services, contract advice, advocacy and representation for writers, information on the publishing industry, grants and other opportunities, affiliation to international PEN.
 For an application forms and terms & conditions for these awards please download from our website  or email
 Further information:  Please contact

No comments:

Post a Comment